Friday, October 16, 2009

EEO Award Goes to GLIFAA member

Each year, the Department gives and Equal Employment Opportunity award to a State Department employee for outstanding accomplishments in further the goals of the Department's EEO program. The GLIFAA board nominated Bob, who was not on the board at the time (but is the current president) for the work he did with the board as we worked with the Department's transition team and then with the Secretary's office on partner benefits.

This is not the first time a GLIFAA member has been nominated, but it is the first time a GLIFAA member has won.


1. The Department is pleased to announce the selection
of Mr. Robert S. Gilchrist, formerly assigned to the
Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs, as the
recipient of the 2009 Equal Employment Opportunity

2. This annual award recognizes the outstanding
accomplishments (by a Foreign Service or a Civil Service
employee) in furthering the goals of the Departments
EEO program through exceptionally effective leadership,
skill, imagination, and innovation in extending and
promoting equal opportunities for all employees. The
award consists of a certificate signed by the Secretary
of State and $10,000.

3. The Selection Committee was chaired by John M.
Robinson, Director, Office of Civil Rights (S/OCR) and
Chief Diversity Officer. Its members included Mr. Adam
E. Namm, Deputy Director, OBO; Ms. JoAnn E. Scandola,
Deputy Executive Director, S-ES/EX; and Ms. Jaqueline D.
Hill, Office Director, HR/CSHRM.

4. The Selection Committee chose Mr. Gilchrist for his
outstanding leadership in laying the groundwork for
improved personnel policies for the lesbian, gay,
bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community, and for his
commitment to an innovative equal opportunity policy
that is inclusive of sexual orientation, gender
identity, and gender expression at the Department of
State and all foreign affairs agencies.


7. The Department takes this opportunity to emphasize
the importance of the EEO Award, and to encourage
participation in future competitions for this
prestigious honor.

No comments: